13 from Assam take oath as MP, Ajmal gives a miss

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

17th LS session begins as PM reaches out to Opp 

HT Bureau

GUWAHATI, June 17: Of 14 newly-elected MPs from Assam, 13 MPs took oath as member of parliament before the pro-tem speaker at the inaugural session of the 17th Lok Sabha in New Delhi on Monday.

However, AIUDF MP Badaruddin Ajmal skipped the first day of the session.

Donning the Assamese gamosa, the MPs took the oath in regional languages. Of the 13 MPs nine are from BJP–Rameswar Teli, Pradan Barua, Pallab Lochan Das, Queen Oja, Dilip Saikia, Kripanath Malla, Tapan Kumar Gogoi, Rajdeep Roy, Horen Sing Bey, three from the Congress– Pradyut Bordoloi, Gaurav Gogoi and Abdul Khaleque and one each from All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) Badruddin Ajmal and Independent Naba Kumar Sarania.

The first session of the 17th Lok Sabha commenced Monday with jubilant BJP members raising ‘Jai Shri Ram and Bharat Mata ki Jai’ slogans as several members, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Congress president Rahul Gandhi took oath.

As the Leader of the House, Modi was the first to take oath as member of the Lower House Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Home Minister and BJP president Amit Shah, Transport and Highways minister Nitin Gadkari were among the prominent members who took oath.

Addressing the media outside parliament before the commencement of Parliament session, Modi reached out to the opposition saying they need not “bother about their numbers” as their every word is “valuable” to the government.

He urged all MPs to be impartial in the House and address issues related to the larger interest of the nation. “When we come to Parliament, we should forget ‘paksh’  (treasury) and ‘vipaksh’ (opposition). We should think about issues with a ‘nishpaksh’ (impartial) spirit and work in the larger interest of the nation,” he said,

Besides the Union ministers who were elected to the Lok Sabha, members from 23 states and union territories, including Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Kerala, Jammu and Kashmir and Bihar took oath.

The remaining members will take oath on Tuesday. The Lok Sabha at present has 542 elected members. Elections to Vellore seat in Tamil Nadu was cancelled as the Election Commission felt excessive money power was being used to lure voters in that constituency.

A fresh date is yet to be announced. BJP MP from Bhopal Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur created a controversy when she suffixed the name of her spiritual guru with hers while taking oath, drawing objections from the Opposition.

Amid protests and shouting, Thakur said that it was her full name and she had mentioned that she had already mentioned her full name in the form she had filled for oath taking.

The mention of Swami Purna Chetnanand Avdheshanand Giri as suffix to her name Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur evoked sharp reaction from the Opposition members who said that such a thing was not permitted.

Amid noise and objections, pro-tem Speaker Virendra Kumar ruled that only the name written in her election certificate issued by the returning officer would go on record.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave A Reply