5th Brahmaputra Valley Film Festival to kickstart from Sept 15

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

Guwahati, Sept 13: The 5th edition of Brahmaputra Valley Film Festival organised by Guwahati based Tattva Creations will begin with a three-day long programme at Pragjyoti ITA Centre at Machkhowa in Guwahati from September 15. The festival will culminate on September 17.

Nationally and internationally renowned film personalities such as Vishal Bhardwaj, filmmaker, producer, screenwriter and music composer famous for his films such as Omkara, Kaminey, Haider and Rangoon; Abhishek Chaubey, renowned filmmaker known for films like Ishqiya, Dedh Ishqiya and Udta Punjab; Gauri Shinde, the filmmaker behind films like English-Vinglish and Dear Zindagi; filmmaker Nagesh Kukunoor who is the visionary behind films such as Iqbal, Dor and Dhanak; the versatile Nagraj Manjule, his latest film Sairat become the first Marathi film to gross over Rs 100 crore worldwide; and Adil Hussain, internationally acclaimed actor who received the Special Jury Award at the 2017 National Film Awards will be part of the 3-day festival.

The festival will include screening of films from all across the Northeast along with a few invited films from the rest of the country; interactive sessions, three-day workshop on film appreciation by Film and Television Institute of India, Pune, in addition to a film quiz, panel discussions and the highly anticipated award ceremony.

A short film contest was also organised as a part of the festival. It was open to film makers from the Northeast and for films shot in the Northeast or featuring stories from the region. Over 150 short films were received for the contest and out of all the entries, the top 15 will be screened at the film festival. The top three winners will be awarded prizes of over Rs 2.5 lakh in addition to the opportunity to work with a production house of national repute. The jury members of the short film contest includes experienced filmmakers such as Dr Santwana Bardoloi, Sanjeev Hazarika, Roopa Barua, Reema Kagti, Bobbeeta Sharma and Ronnie Lahiri.

Since 2014, the Brahmaputra Valley Film Festival introduced a lifetime achievement award to honour exceptional contribution to cinema in Northeast. In the previous years the award have been conferred to Aribam Syam Sharma (2014) from Manipur, Abdul Mazid (2015) from Assam and Jnanada Kakoti (2016).This year, the award will be conferred to renowned Assamese director Munin Barua.

The Brahmaputra Valley Film Festival was conceived in 2013 with the objectives of promoting Northeast cinema and providing a platform for regional filmmakers. The festival also aims to bring in great storytellers under one roof, offering the audience a dynamic experience which combine cinema, short films, documentaries, culture and performing arts.

The organising team of the festival includes festival director and managing director of Tattva Creations Tanushree Hazarika, eminent journalist and entrepreneur Karma S Paljor, filmmaker Roopa Barua, producer and lawyer Pallavi Barua and national award-winning filmmaker Samujjal Kashyap.

Renowned filmmaker from Assam, Reema Kagti who directed the Aamir Khan starrer Talaash; Ronnie Lahiri, producer of Piku, Mardas Cafe and Pink; Bobbeeta Sarma, television producer, director and actor; actor Adil Hussain and director, producer and distributor Shiladitya Bora are the honorary advisors who have helped shaping the festival.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave A Reply