71% turnout in Meghalaya polling, breaks record

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

SHILLONG, April 12 (Newmai):With a total voter turnout of 71.37%, Meghalaya has recorded its highest ever turnout for a “standalone” Lok Sabha election in the state.

“The final voter turnout recorded at 71.37 per cent is the highest in terms of standalone Lok Sabha elections in the state,” the state’s Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Fredrick Roy Kharkongor informed here on Friday.

The polling percentage has increased by 2.53 per cent compared to the last 2014 Lok Sabha polls which was recorded at 68.48 per cent.

Kharkongor said the figure is the second highest in the history of the state as the highest voter turnout was at 74.38 per cent in terms of simultaneous elections, which were held in the year 1998.

Over 13.64 lakh of 19.14 lakh voters which include 7.11 lakh women and 6.53 lakh men who have exercised their franchise during the polling on Thursday.

The voting percent of female voters was registered at 73.68 per cent which is much higher than the male voters at 69.03 per cent, the CEO said.

Giving a break up constituency wise, Kharkongor informed that the voter turnout in the Tura parliamentary constituency was at 81.20 per cent while only 65.49 per cent in the Shillong parliamentary constituency.

The assembly segment under the Shillong constituency which registered the highest turnout of voters was Sutnga-Saipung in East Jaintia Hills District with 74.26 per cent while lowest was at Mawlai with only 59.32 per cent.

As for the Tura constituency, Selsella has recorded the highest number of voter turnout at 92.20 per cent while the lowest is South Tura with only 71.97 per cent. South Tura is the constituency represented by the Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma.

Meanwhile, Kharkongor informed that there is an adequate number of forces to guard all the strong rooms in the 13 centres of the eleven district headquarters and two civil sub divisions of Mairang and Sohra.

“The strong rooms will be guarded by 13 platoons after the state was allowed to retain 5 companies of Central Armed Police Force (CAPF),” he said.

Counting of the votes that were polled on Thursday will be held on May 23.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave A Reply