AASAA Tinsukia Stages Dharna in Front of DC Office

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

HT Correspondent


MARGHERITA, Dec 17: All Adivasi Students Association of Assam (AASAA), Tinsukia District Executive Committee in collaboration with all regional committees of AASAA on Friday staged dharna for about three hours in front of the deputy commissioner’s office in Tinsukia and submitted a memorandum to Prime Minister Narendra Modi through the deputy commissioner for inclusion of Adivasi people in the ST category.

Raja Kujur and Ramanus Lakra, both president and general secretary of AASAA Tinsukia District Executive Committee said that Adivasis in Jharkhand, Chattisgarh, West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh, Orissa got ST status but in Assam they are still deprived of it.

Ramanus Lakra said that there are 36 Adivasi communities such as Urang, Munda, Santhal, Kharia, Bhumij, Kisan, Kherwar, Pradhan, Bhil, Koya, Dhanwar, Khond, etc., residing in Assam. “We demand the government of Assam to segregate the Adivasi community from the six ethnic Adivasi communities of Assam and send the Adivasi Community recommendation separately for inclusion in the Schedule Tribe (ST) list as per the exact norms of the Amendment of Constitution (Schedule Tribe) order, 1950.”


Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave A Reply