BJP wins 60 seats with 33.21 pc votes

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

Cong pockets 29 seats – an improvement of three seats of last assembly polls

HT Bureau

GUWAHATI, May 3: The ruling BJP-led alliance retained its hold on Assam, bagging 75 of the 126 assembly constituencies that went to polls, while the opposition Congress-led Grand Alliance managed to grab just 50 seats.

BJP has garnered 33.21 percent share of the votes, according to the Election Commission.

The saffron party alone won 60 constituencies, the same as in 2016. Its ally Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) got nine seats, five less than what it did during the last polls.

The third member of the winning alliance, United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL), secured six seats, all of which were wrested from the Bodoland People’s Front (BPF).

The Congress won 29 seats, improving upon its previous score of 26, and its partner in the Grand Alliance, the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), bagged 16, three more than what it had won in 2016.

The BPF, which had quit the ruling coalition and joined the Grand Alliance, has four seats in its name.

CPI-M won one seat, and another went to an independent.

As per the party wise vote share data of the EC, the BJP contested in 92 seats and secured 6,84,538 (33.21%) of the total votes polled.

AGP contested in 26 seats and garnered 1,519,777 (7.9 %) votes.

The Congress contested in 94 seats and won 5,703,341 votes (29.7 %), AIUDF was in the fray in 14 constituencies and got 1,786,551 (9.3 %) votes, while CPI(M) fought in two seats had secured just 160,758 (0.84 %) votes.

Others secured 13.7 per cent share with 26,28,518 votes and NOTA was the choice of 1.14 percent voters – or 219,578 of them.

The major winners are chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal, his cabinet colleagues Himanta Biswa Sarma, Chandra Mohan Patowary, besides the speaker of the outgoing assembly Hitendra Nath Goswami, AGP chief Atul Bora, jailed anti-CAA movement leader Akhil Gogoi.

The prominent losers are Assam Pradesh Congress president Ripun Bora and minister Pramila Rani Brahma of BPF.

The BJP held on to as many as 49 constituencies it had won in the 2016 elections, lost ten and emerged victorious in eleven new ones, while the grand old party retained 15.

In eight constituencies, the winning margin breached the one-lakh mark – three of which were clinched each by the AIUDF and the BJP, and two by the Congress.

AIUDF’s Rafiqul Islam won the Jania constituency with the biggest margin of 1,44,775. On the contrary, Congress Legislature party leader Debabrata Saikia bagged the Nazira constituency with the slimmest margin of 683 votes.

Chief minister Sonowal registered a comfortable win in Majuli constituency for the second consecutive term, defeating his nearest Congress rival Rajib Lochan Pegu by 43,192 votes.

BJP heavyweight and finance minister Himanta Biswa Sarma secured Jalukbari for the fifth consecutive term, beating Congress opponent Romen Chandra Borthakur by 1,01,911 votes.

13 other BJP ministers retained their seats at ease, including Chandra Mohan Patowary from Dharmapur, Parimal Suklabaidya from Dholai, Ranjit Dutta from Behali, Siddhartha Bhattacharya from Gauhati East and Pijush Hazarika from Jagiroad.

Rajya Sabha MP, Biswajit Daimary, wrested the Panery seat from BPF’s Karuna Kanta Swargiary. Three AGP ministers – Atul Bora, Keshab Mahanta and Phani Bhushan Choudhury – have also held on to their Bokakhat, Kaliabor and Bongaigaon constituencies respectively, with Choudhury clinching his seat for a record eighth successive term since 1985.

Speaker of the outgoing assembly, Hitendra Nath Goswami, who was trailing former Congress MLA Rana Goswami in the initial rounds in Jorhat, managed to clinch a victory by a margin of 6,488 votes. His deputy Aminul Haque Laskar lost the Sonai constituency to AIUDF’s Karimuddin Barbhuiya.

Among the prominent leaders who failed to cut ice with the electorate is Congress state unit chief Ripun Bora. BJP’s Utpal Borah trounced him in Gohpur by 29,294 votes.

Bora has tendered his resignation on Sunday night following his humiliating defeat.

Former Congress minister Ajanta Neog, who joined the saffron party before the elections, maintained its hold on the Golaghat seat, but another grand-old party turncoat Gautam Roy lost the polls in Katigora.

Congress legislator Bhaskar Jyoti Baruah clinched Titabor, earlier represented by three-time chief minister Tarun Gogoi, while the party’s former MLA Borgohain wrested Thowra from BJP’s Kushal Dowari.

Jailed Raijor Dal president Akhil Gogoi, who joined the fray as an Independent, bagged the Sivasagar constituency by defeating his nearest BJP rival Surabhi Rajkonwari by 11,878 votes.

Newly floated party Assam Jatiya Parishad, however, failed to open its account, with its president Lurinjyoti Gogoi losing the two seats it contested – Naharkatiya and Duliajan.

Former Asam Sahitya Sabha president Parmananda Rajbongshi secured the Sipajhar seat as a BJP candidate.

Popular Bhojpuri singer Kalpana Patowary, who contested the polls on an AGP ticket, however, lost to sitting Congress MLA Jakir Hussain Sikdar in Sarukhetri.


Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave A Reply