Cong-led grand alliance shows good performance in Nagaon, wins 5 seats, BJP 2

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

HT Correspondent

NAGAON, May 3: Among seven constituencies under Nagaon election district, the ruling BJP alliance retained here the two seats while the Congress led grand alliance won five seats.

In Nagaon sadar, the incumbent BJP MLA RupakSarma defeated his nearest rival Congress candidate SantanuSarma by a margin of 11,083 votes. RupakSarma achieved 81,098 votes while Congress candidate SantanuSarma bagged 70,015 votes.

Significantly, BJP candidate Jitu Goswami won the Berhampur seat after a neck to neck contest with Congress candidate Suresh Bora. Goswami defeated Suresh Bora by a narrow margin of only 751 votes.

Goswami got 70,111 votes while Congress candidate Suresh Bora 69,360 votes.

Meanwhile the BJP MLA of Batadrova, AngoorlataDeka finally surrendered the seat to her Congress rival Sibamoni Bora with a margin of 32,820 votes. Sibamoni Bora achieved 84,278 votes while AngoorlataDeka bagged 51,458 votes.

Similarly, in Raha constituency, Congress candidate Sashikanta Das defeated his nearest rival AGP candidate Bishnu Das by a margin of 13,058 votes. Sashikanta Das bagged 89,511 votes while AGP candidate Bishnu Das achieved 76,453 votes.

Former Congress minister Rokibul Hussain and the sitting Congress MLA of Rupahihat, Nurul Huda retained Samaguri and Rupahihat seats consecutively for five and second terms respectively. Rokibul Hussain defeated his nearest rival BJP candidate Anil Saikia by a margin of 26,098 votes. Hussain received 81,123 votes and Anil Saikia bagged 55,025 votes. In Rupahihat, Congress sitting Congress MLA Nurul Huda defeated BJP candidate Nazir Hussain by a huge margin of 1,06,352 votes. Huda bagged 1,32,091 votes while BJP candidate Nazir Hussain achieved 25,739 votes.

On the other hand, in Dhing constituency, the sitting AIUDF MLA Aminul Islam retained the seat consecutively for third time by a huge margin of 1,02,967 votes against his nearest rival independent candidate MehboobMuktar. Aminul Islam achieved 1,45,888 votes while independent candidate MehboobMuktar bagged 42,921 votes.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave A Reply