Cong to field Mukul Sangma from Tura

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

Vincent Pala re-nominated to contest from Shillong seat

HT Bureau

SHILLONG, March 13: The Congress has decided to field former chief minister of Meghalaya, Dr. Mukul Sangma as its official candidate for the Tura parliamentary seat. It has also decided to re-nominate sitting MP, Vincent Pala for the Shillong seat in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Informing this here on Wednesday, Congress spokesman Himalaya Shangpliang said that on scrutiny of the four applications recommended by the state Congress, the All India Congress Committee (AICC) ‘high command’ has felt the need to request Dr Mukul Sangma to consider fighting the elections.

“Sangma agreed to take the ticket and to fight as a Congress candidate for the Tura parliamentary seat,” Shangpliang said. It may be noted here that the four names recommended by the Meghalaya Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) include two MLAs Zenith Sangma and Winnerson Sangma, former Williamnagar MLA Deborah Marak and state youth wing president Richard Marak.

Shangpliang further informed sitting MP Pala was unanimously selected to again be the candidate of the party for the Shillong seat.

In this backdrop, Shangpliang expressed confidence that the Congress would win the Tura parliamentary seat, which was held by late Purno A Sangma for the past many years.

A screening committee of the Congress on Wednesday vetted the names of Sangma and Pala as the party candidates from two Lok Sabha seats in Meghalaya.

Meghalaya has two parliamentary constituencies – Shillong and Tura – that will go to polls on April 11. Pala, the incumbent Congress Lok Sabha member was nominated from Shillong parliamentary seat, won the last parliamentary elections by a margin of 40,379 votes against Independent candidate PBM Basaiawmoit.

On Monday, the ruling National People’s Party (NPP)-led Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) government announced it would jointly field former Union Minister Agatha K. Sangma from the Tura Lok Sabha seat and United Democratic Party (UDP)’s Jemino Mawthoh from Shillong.

Both Mawthoh and Agatha Sangma, the sister of the chief minister Conrad Sangma, will contest on symbols of their own party’s – the UDP and the NPP, respectively. The BJP, which is also part of the NPP-led six-party MDA, decided to field its own candidates from the state’s two parliamentary constituencies.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave A Reply