Horensing bats for Autonomous State; Biren for separation of Haflong HPC from Diphu

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

LS elections: 45 file nominations for Phase I in Assam, 14 for Phase II

HT Bureau

GUWAHATI, March 25: Altogether 45 candidates filed nomination on Monday on the last day of filing nomination for the first phase of the Lok Sabha elections slated on April 11. For the second phase slated on April 18, a total of 14 candidates submitted their papers, official sources informed here Monday.

Sitting MP and Congress candidate Biren Singh Engti and BJP candidate for No. 3 Autonomous Districts (ST) Parliamentary Constituency Horensing Bey filed their nomination before Karbi Anglong deputy commissioner and returning officer Mukul Kumar Saikia on Monday.

Bey accompanied by Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council (KAAC) chief executive member (CEM) Tuliram Ronghang and North Cachar Hills Autonomous Council (NCHAC) CEM Debolal Garlosa went with a large number of people from the party office at Rongnihang to the DC’s office to file his nomination.

After filing nomination, Bey said, “He (Engti) is too old now and people need change. Five assembly seats in the hills are captured by BJP and nine town committees in Karbi Anglong and West Karbi Anglong are with the BJP. We just want to ensure that we get more than 90 percent of the votes. I will speak in Parliament for Autonomous State and for full implementation of MoU and MoS and for development.”

CEM Tuliram Ronghang said, “We are sticking to Autonomous State which is a state within the state in Assam and for all round development in the districts that we want BJP to come back to power. MP Biren Singh Engti has won the maximum number of elections, but he never spoke about the issues of the hill districts. A new and energetic leader is required to change the face of the district and for that people need to elect Bey.

After filing his nomination, Bey along with the two CEMs, EMs of both the councils and MLAs Dr. Mansing Rongpi, Dr. Numal Momin and Bir Bhadra Hagjer addressed an election rally at Lorulangso, Hacha Kekan Aklam.

Sitting MP Biren Singh Engti accompanied by Congress members and workers filed his nomination at the same time. He was accompanied by Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) secretary Shamin Rashid Chawdhury and Karbi Anglong District Congress Committee (KADCC) vice presidents Pran Kumar Dutta and Ashok Teron and West KADC, president Sarthe Kramsa.

After filing his nomination Engti said, “Another Parliamentary seat should be created in Haflong for Dima Hasao and this would be possible in 2026 when delimitation will be done for assembly and Lok Sabha seats. In the delimitation the present five assembly seatsin the three hill districts of Karbi Anglong, West Karbi Anglong and Dima Hasao will be raised to seven. Everyone is fighting elections to win and we are hopeful.”

In No 11 Kaliabor, seven candidates filed their nomination on Monday. AGP candidate Monimadhab Mahanta submitted his nomination as AGP – BJP combine candidate for Kaliabar before Nagaon additional deputy commissioner Hemanta Bhuyan.

Along with Mahanta, Diganta Kumar Saikia from Hindustan Nirman Party, Abdul Aziz from National People’s Party (NPP), Habikul Islam Bhuyan from Asam Jana Marcha (AJM) and independent candidate Jiten Gogoi submitted their papers on Monday.

On the other hand, Asam Jana Marcha candidate for Nagaon Saiful Islam Choudhury submitted his nomination papers to Nagaon deputy commissioner Jadav Saikia.

NPP candidate Abdul Aziz said that his main fight will be with Congress candidate Gaurav  Gogoi. In Nagaon BJP is likely to field Union minister of state for railways Rajen Gohain.

For No 9 Tezpur constituency, 10 candidates filed their nomination papers on Monday. They are: Mahendra Orang (Voters’ Party International), Mahendra Bhuyan (NCP), MGVK Bhanu (INC), Iqbal Ansari (Ind), Ranvijay Kumar Rai (Bahujan Mukti Party), Bijoy Kumar Tiru (Adivasi National Party of Assam), Ram Bahadur Sonar (NPP), Pallab Lochan Das (BJP), Krishna Hari Paul (All India Hindustan Congress Party) and Ziabur Rahman Khan (Ind).

In No 13 Dibrugarh constituencfy, eight candidates filed their nominations on the day. They are: Paban Singh Ghatowar (INC), Bhaben Baruah (NPP), Md. Nurul Huda Imdadul Islam Saikia (Independent), Dr. Titus Bhengra (Independent), Rubul Buragohain (Independent), Israil Nanda (Independent) and Apurva Saikia (Independent).

BJP candidate Rameswar Teli (BJP) had filed his nomination on March 22.

In No 14 Lakhimpur constituency, 12 candidates filed their nomination on Monday7. Congress candidate Anil Borgohain earlier filed nomination paper, while incumbent MP Pradan Baruah today filed paper as BJP candidate on Monday. Baruah was accompanied by Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal, finance minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, minister of state for panchayat & rural development Naba Kumar Doley and several other party leaders during filing nomination paper.

Those who have filed nominations for the constituency are; Anil Borgohain (INC), Hem Kanta Miri (SUCI, Arup Pratim Borboruah (NCP), Prabhu Lal Vaishnava (Independent), Arup Kalita (CPI), Ubaidur Rahman (Asom Jana Morcha), Amiya Kumar Handique (CPI-M), Md. Ambaz Uddin (Independent), Bhupan Narah (Voter’s Party International), Purnakanta Deuri (Independent) and Dilip Moran  (Asom Dristi Party).

In No 12 Jorhat constituency, eight candidates filed their nominations. They are: Nandita Nag (Independent), Arbin Kumar Baruah (Independent), Ribulaya Gogoi (All India Trinamool Congress), Kamala Rajkonwar (NPP), Rajkumar Duwarah (All India Forward Block), Tapan Gogoi (BJP), Sushanta Borgohain (INC) and Kanak Gogoi (CPI).

Alongside ministers, senior party leaders and jubilant supporters, candidates of Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party, SUCI(C) and Independent candidates submitted their nomination papers before Cachar deputy commissioner and returning officer Laya Madduri in Silchar. The candidates who filed their nominations include Dr Rajdip Roy (BJP) Sushmita Dev (INC), Shyamdeo Kurmi (SUCI-C)) and Dilip Kumar (Ind). Tuesday is the last date for filing of nominations for the second phase.

In No 1 Karimganj constituency, three candidates have filed their nominations. They are: Radheshyam Biswas(AIUDF), Chandan Das (AITMC) and Swarup Das (Congress).

In No 2 Silchar, four candidates have filed their nominations. They are: Rajdeep Roy (BJP), Sushmita Dev (INC), Dilip Kumar (Independent) and Shyamdeo Kurmi (SUCI).

In No 4 Mangaldoi, four candidates havfe filed their nominations. They are: Dilip Saikia (BJP), Bhubaneswar Kalita (INC), Prodeep Kumar Daimary (United People’s Party Liberal), and Biren Basak (Bharatiya Gana Parishad).

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave A Reply