Internecine rift in BJP over poll alliance with Gana Sakti

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

By: Prafulla Kaman

DHEMAJI, Nov 16: Internal wrangling has been cropping up in Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) over pre-poll alliance with Sanmilita Gana Sakti (SGS) in Jonai assembly constituency in Dhemaji district for the upcoming panchayat elections in the state.

The grass-root level workers of saffron party are irritated on the alliance with SGS and allotment of tickets to the party contenders in many gaon panchayats in the district.

Terming the move as “imprudent” and “pessimistic” for the party, the infuriated BJP activists vehemently criticized Lakhimpur BJP MP Pradan Baruah, district BJP president Rupa Kaman and Pradesh BJP leader Ashini Kr Pait for their ‘mysterious’ role in forging alliance with SGS.

The irritated party workers vandalised BJP’s Pachim-Jonai Mandal office and burnt down BJP flags and other office materials. In the earlier too, the disgruntled BJP workers staged protest demo at Silapathar, shouted slogans against MP Pradan Baruah, district BJP president and other state level BJP leaders.

“The dirty politics of the saffron brigade has disheartened our dedicated BJP activists, who have been working in the party for last several decades. The party leaders are making pre-poll alliance with SGS for their personal benefits and left them in many gaon panchayats under the districts thereby ignoring interest of the grass-root level workers”, said the dissident BJP workers.

Notably, many disgruntled leaders have filed nominations as ‘independent’ candidates to contest the poll. They have also formed ‘United Independent Group’ to make BJP-backed SGS contestants in the district.

When contacted, district BJP president Rupa Kaman said the decision was made by the Pradesh BJP and there was nothing to do for the district committee in this regard.

According to report, following BJP high command’s instruction, many SGS contenders have filed nominations using BJP symbol to contest the election. However, the SGS nominees have filed their nominations in Pub-Jonai ZPC using their own symbol rejecting BJP’s offer.

As per report, district election department received as many as 1,769 nomination forms including 19 for ZPM, 163 for APM, 206 for GPP and 1381 for GPM till last date of submission of nomination on Thursday. The district election department still remains undecided over legal Congress nominees, who have been overlapped nomination for various posts till filing and claiming legality of candidature.

Dhemaji district has seven ZPCs, 5 Anchalik Panchayats (AP) and 62 Gaon Panchayats (GP), which are spreading in two assembly segments- 113 Dhemaji (ST) and 114 Jonai (ST) LAC. As such, Jonai LAC comprises four ZPCs namely Pub-Jonai, Pachim-Jonai, Sissiborgaon and Sissitongani and rest three, including Dhemaji, Bordoloni and Muchkhowa fall under Dhemaji LAC.

Panchayat election in Dhemaji district will be conducted on December 5 in the first phase. Altogether 2, 93,867 electors will exercise their franchise in 522 polling stations in the district.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave A Reply