Meghalaya LS polls: Agatha wins Tura, Pala retains Shillong

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

NPP becomes single largest party in Meghalaya Assembly

By: Dhrubajyoti Chakravorty

SHILLONG, May 23: As expected Congress and National People’s Party (NPP) have shared two Lok Sabha seats of Meghalaya, results of which were declared on Thursday. The results of Tura parliamentary seat exceeded all predictions of photo finish between Congress and NPP with Agatha Sangma defeating her father’s arch rival Dr Mukul Sangma by a massive margin of 63,775 votes. Agatha, who is the younger sister of chief minister Conrad Sangma and daughter of late Lok Sabha Speaker Purno Sangma, has been previously elected twice to the Lok Sabha from Tura.

On the other hand, Indian National Congress’ candidate Vincent H. Pala retained the Shillong seat. He defeated his nearest rival of United Democratic Party (UDP) Jemino Mawthoh by 1,52,139 votes.  Notably, Pala has also served as union minister during the Manmohan Singh-led UPA government.

Meanwhile, the ruling National People’s Party (NPP) has increased its strength to 21 members in the 60-member Assembly with its candidate Ferlin CA Sangma winning the bypoll to Selsella Assembly constituency on Thursday. Ferlin defeated Congress candidate June Eliana R. Marak by a margin of 4,369 votes. The victory has helped the NPP to emerge as the single largest party in the state. The bypoll to Selsella Assembly constituency was necessitated following the demise of sitting Congress MLA and former minister Clement R Marak, the husband of June Eliana R. Marak.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave A Reply