Mukul, Sanbor file nominations on last day 

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

Shillong, Tura set for multi-cornered contest 

HT Bureau

SHILLONG, March 25: With the filling of nominations by four candidates (two each) on the last day on Monday, both Shillong and Tura will witness a multi-cornered contest in the general elections to be held on April 11. Former chief minister and senior Congress leader Mukul Sangma and BJP nominee Rikman G Momin filed their papers for the Tura Lok Sabha seat on Monday before the Returning Officer Ram Singh.

Sangma is at present the Leader of Opposition in the Meghalaya Assembly. The BJP candidate’s entry has opened the field a little wider in Tura LS seat. Rikman is the state vice president of the BJP.

So, Tura seat will witness a triangular fight between the ruling National People’s Party candidate Agatha K Sangma, Congress leader Mukul Sangma and BJP candidate Rikman. Agatha is the common candidate supported by the regional parties who are supporting the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance government in the state.

During the filling of nominations, Mukul Sangma was accompanied by a huge number of supporters and came along with his wife Dikkanchi D Shira, daughter Miani D Shira and brother Zenith Sangma.

Incidentally, this will be the third attempt by the former chief minister to wrest the seat from the family of PA Sangma.

Two-time MP and NPP candidate, Agatha Sangma had filed her nominations on last Friday. Full-fledged campaigning for the April 11 polls by all parties is expected to begin in earnest from Tuesday onwards.

BJP candidates – MLA Sanbor Shullai filed his nominations for the Shillong seat on Monday. Shullai was accompanied by cabinet minister and BJP leader, AL Hek.

Talking to reporters after filing of his nomination, Shullai said that he is confident of winning stating that the people of this country have reposed their faith on Prime Minister, Narendra Modi. Sitting Congress MP from Shillong seat, Vincent H Pala, will face a common candidate set up by the MDA Jemino Mawthoh, BJP candidate Sanbor Shullai and five others.

Earlier on Monday, Independent candidate, Romeo Phira Rani, filed his nomination papers for the Shillong Parliamentary seat.

However, the contest will centre around Congress, UDP and BJP with each candidate exuding confidence of big win.

Meanwhile, United Democratic Party candidate Sayeedullah Nongrum, Congress nominee June Eliana R Marak (widow of late MLA Clement Marak) and NPP candidate Ferlin CA Sangma have filed their nominations for the by-election to the Selsella Assembly constituency.

The bye-poll has been necessitated due to the death of the sitting MLA, Clement Marak after a long fight with cancer. Election to both the Lok Sabha seats and also the by-election to the Selsella Assembly constituency will be held on April 11.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave A Reply