Phani Bhushan Choudhury wins Bongaigaon for 8th consecutive term

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

HT Correspondent

Abhayapuri, May 3: Senior AsomGanaParishad (AGP) leader and Assam minister PhaniBhushan Choudhury has set a record in the political history of Assam by winning for eight consecutive terms from the Bongaigaon constituency.

From 1985 to 2021, he has fought every assembly election in the same seat and emerged victorious. Choudhury defeated his nearest opponent Congress candidate and former AASU president Sankar Prasad Ray with a margin of 38,277 votes. While PhaniBhushan Choudhury got 82,800 votes (53.78%), Sankar Prasad Ray managed to get 44,633 votes.

The senior AGP leader has been winning the Bongaigaon seat since 1985. He managed to get 45.15% of total vote share in his debut election.

In 2016, Choudhury defeated Sankar Prasad Ray with a huge margin of 31,320 votes. While the senior AGP leader amassed 77,292 votes, Ray got 45,972 votes. 

Talking to media persons, PhaniBhushan Choudhury said, “It is not my victory, it is victory of the people of Bongaigaon.”

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave A Reply