Rio asked to submit signatures of 32 MLAs by today; Zeliang refuses to resign, gets 48 hours to prove majority

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

HT Correspondent

DIMAPUR, March 4: Political situation in Nagaland on Sunday took an interesting turn when Nagaland governor PB Acharya was forced to give 48 hours to incumbent chief minister TR Zeliang to prove his majority after Zeliang refused to resign despite his party Naga People’s Front (NPF) losing majority in the February 27 assembly polls results.

A delegation of BJP and Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) led by chief ministerial candidate Neiphiu Rio and senior BJP leader Ram Madhav, meanwhile, met Acharya at the Raj Bhawan to stake claim to form new government.

The NDPP-BJP alliance claimed support of 32 newly elected MLAs in the 60-member House.

After a meeting with Rio, governor Acharya said the NDPP leader has the majority on his side and therefore should form the government. The governor asked Rio to submit signatures of all the 32 MLAs supporting him by Monday.

The NDPP on Sunday exuded confidence that they would be able to form a stable government in the state as the numbers were on their side.

BJP general secretary Ram Madhav said the pre-poll allies have got the party a “near simple majority” in the 60-member assembly.

Highlighting the alliances’ priorities when it forms the government, Rio said they have two top priorities — resolution of the Naga political issue as soon as possible and all-round development of Nagaland.

On the other hand, the Nagaland governor asked TR Zeliang to prove his majority within 48 hours.

Meanwhile, refusing to quit Zeliang said that he would meet BJP’s national president Amit Shah in New Delhi to discuss about formation of government while two BJP ministers are still in his ministry.

On the other hand, NPF’s president Shurhozelie Liezietsu said that, NPF and BJP have been friends for a long time and both parties can form a strong and stable government as NPF bagged 26 seats and 12 by BJP.

Meanwhile, Nagaland BJP president Visasolie Lhoungu sent a letter to the governor expressing its support to NDPP.

In the final result of the Nagaland assembly poll, BJP has won 12 seats, while NDPP bagged 18, 26 by NPF, 2 by NPP and one each by JD (U) and Independent.

The NDPP and the BJP have won 18 and 12 seats respectively while the lone JD(U) MLA G Kaito Aye and Independent legislator Tongpang Ozukum were backing the alliance, NDPP secretary general Abu Metha said.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave A Reply