Sarkar quits; BJP, IPFT MLAs to meet on March 6 to elect leader: Deb

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

Agartala, March 4 (PTI): Outgoing Tripura chief minister Manik Sarkar submitted his resignation to Governor Tathagata Roy in Agartala on Sunday, a day after the CPI(M)-led Left Front was dethroned by the BJP-IPFT coalition after nearly 25 years in power.

The Governor advised Sarkar, who was chief minister since 1998, to continue until the new chief minister takes oath.

Coming out of the Raj Bhavan, Sarkar told reporters that he and his ministers would not have been able to run the government for so many years unless the people and the employees extended their cooperation to them.

He expressed gratitude to the people of the state and the staff members of the state administration.

On the other hand, newly elected MLAs of the BJP and its ally IPFT in Tripura will meet in Agartala on March 6 to elect their leader, state BJP president Biplab Deb said in Agartala on Sunday.

The BJP has 35 MLAs and the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) has eight. Union minister Nitin Gadkari will be present at the meeting, Deb told PTI.

He said Prime Minister Narendra Modi and many other Union ministers are likely to attend the oath-taking ceremony.

The elections in 59 seats of the 60-member Assembly were held on February 18. Polling was countermanded in one seat due to the death of a CPI(M) candidate.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave A Reply