USTM to Hold 7th Convocation on Dec 15

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

HT Bureau


GUWAHATI, Dec 12: The seventh convocation of the University of Science and Technology Meghalaya is going to be held on December 15 at the Central Auditorium of the university. Satya Pal Malik, Governor of Meghalaya and visitor USTM will preside over the function. Several renowned vice chancellors including Prof Nageshwar Rao, VC-IGNOU, Prof Saket Kushwaha, VC, Rajiv Gandhi University (AP), Prof Prabha Shankar Shukla, VC-NEHU, Prof (Dr.) Dhruba Jyoti Borah, VC, Srimanta Sankardeva University of Health Sciences, and Dr TG Sitharam, director, IIT, Guwahati, Dr G Narahari Sastry, director, CSIR-NEIST, Dr PR Swarup, director general, CIDC will grace the occasion among others. Apart from the University graduates who will be receiving degrees in the Convocation, the Meghalaya Governor Satya Pal Malik will also confer honorary D.Sc. degrees upon Padma Shree Dr Ravi Kannan and Dr Abdul Wase and the honorary D.Litt. degree upon Prasanta Rajguru.

Padma Shree Dr Ravi Kannan, director, Cachar Cancer Hospital will be conferred the Honorary Degree of Doctorate of Science (D.Sc.) for his immense contribution in the field of medicine specially for facilitating equitable and accessible healthcare services offering cancer care to the underprivileged communities of North East India.

Dr Abdul Wase, Professor of Medicine, Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine, Dayton, OH USA will receive the Honorary Degree of Doctorate of Science (D.Sc.) in recognition of his outstanding contribution in the field medicine specially Cardiac Care and extensive philanthropic activities for the underprivileged society.

Prasanta Rajguru, editor-in-chief, Prag News will be conferred the Honorary Degree of Doctorate of Letters (D.Litt) for his immense contribution in the field of news media giving legitimacy to people’s voice and augmenting the role of media and thereby raising the bar for reporting.

On the Convocation day, a total of 1332 students will be receiving their final degrees from the university this year. This includes the Gold medallists and 11 scholars who will be receiving their PhD degrees.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave A Reply